Hours & Locations

MAIN 541-917-7580
2450 14th Avenue SE, Albany, OR 97322
Monday - Wednesday 10 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Thursday & Friday 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Saturday & Sunday 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.

CARNEGIE 541-917-7585
302 Ferry Street SW, Albany, OR 97321
Monday-Friday 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.

Upcoming Events

  • October 16, 2014 4:30 pmAnime Club meeting
  • November 6, 2014 10:30 amPreSchool Story Time with Puppets
AEC v1.0.4

See the full calendar

Databases List

Databases by Subject

Databases Help

POWERSEARCH TUTORIALS to fully utilize its ‘power.’

Power instructions for PowerSearch                Magazines indexed by Powersearch

POWERSEARCH is a comprehensive resource that aggregates all the periodical databases with their accompanying electronic resources (ebooks, links, media). POWERSEARCH is a great and ‘powerful’ starting point to further your research.  Give it a try in the search box above!

Complete list of Gale periodical databases with descriptors. This is a list of the databases that search for magazine and journal articles. It also includes travel books, great Reference books, small business and health resources. Check it out!

Academic OneFile Peer reviewed database to academic type journals.
Agriculture Collection Focus of database on agricultural magazines and newsletters.
Ancestry …..in Library only Find your family history in this comprehensive genealogical database.
ArchiveGrid…..in Library only Locates sources of archival collections.
AtoZdatabases Includes 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents; ideal for sales leads mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives
Automotive Repair New and improved car/truck specific repair instructions for ‘do it yourselfers’.
Business & Company Resource Center Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Economics and Theory Periodical database with focus on economics.
Camio…..in Library only Database of images – sculpture, paintings, fabrics, photographs, objects, architecture.
Communications and Mass Media Collection Periodical database with focus on communications.
Computer Database Periodical database with focus on computer science.
Criminal Justice Collection Periodical database with focus on criminal justice.
Culinary Arts Collection Periodical database with cooking, complete with recipes.
Discovering Collection Assists students to get the “whole picture” on any curriculum topic.
eBooks from EBSCO Browse list of titles EBSCO library collection of over 10,000 ebooks. Areas of strength include, management, computer science, Oregon, reference materials. Most of these ebbooks are downloadable, as well as viewable online. Create a free MY EBSCO account for maximum utility. Don’t forget Library2Go which also provides popular and downloadable ebooks.
EBSCO Ebsco databases provided by Library – Automotive Repair, Novelist, and ebook collections.
Educators Reference Complete Periodical database for educators.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection Periodical database with environmental focus.
Fine Arts and Music Collection Periodical database with emphasis on the arts.
FirstSearchAlbany WorldCat Requires library card number to log-in.Find books and articles in libraries around the world with a local interface.
Gale Virtual Reference Library An electronic reference book collection.
Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection The horticultural periodical database.
General OneFile Database of popular periodicals – a good starting point for homework and research.
Greenr Global Reference on the environment, energy, and natural resources
Health & Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health Module Periodical database of health information for the consumer.
Health Reference Center Academic Periodical database of health information for health professionals.
Heritage Quest Important genealogical tool, includes census information, includes over 20,000 books.
Home Improvement Collection Periodical database for the Do-It-Yourselfer.
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection Periodical database with focus on hospitality.
Informe Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
InfoTrac Junior Edition Now with over 330 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school.
InfoTrac Newsstand Search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers, translate articles into 11 different languages, create email alerts
InfoTrac Student Edition With over 1100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books.
Junior Reference Collection eReference materials that will support many homework assignments.
Kids InfoBits Hey Kids this is a great place to explore!
Learning Express GED tests; Computer tutorials; vocational tests; PRAXIS, SAT and many, many more.
Legal Forms Oregon specific legal forms covering topics such as divorce, custody, wills & estates, landlord/tenet, power of attorney and much more. Also includes sample letters, legal terms, and Q & A.
LegalTrac Provides full-text coverage of major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.
Library2Go Downloadable audiobooks, ebooks, and videos.
Literary Index Index to some of the materials held by the Library. Good resource for obscure authors.
Mitchell’s Vintage Auto Service (1960-1982) ………in Library onlyCar repair information for the mature vehicle.
NoveList Plus Your guide to what to read and what to read next. If you like to read, read this… now includes non-fiction.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection Periodical database to nursing and allied health materials including over 1100 periodical titles.
Nursing Resource Center Brings together in an easy-to-use interface disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts.
Oregon Newspapers Index A helpful finding aid; a project of the University of Oregon.
Opposing Viewpoints Pro and Con viewpoints on current social issues
Paper Trail A searchable database with focus on the westward wagon trains and those diarists, and their diaries, who made the trek. login- pioneers; password – Albany
Popular Magazines Features full-text coverage of 1,000 of the most searched magazines .
Pronunciator – learn 75 different languages Language program to learn 75 different languages, including English as a second language. Taking a trip? Get ready with Pronunciator.
Psychology Collection Researchers will have access to nearly 500 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals – many cited in the PsycINFO index.
Small Business Resource Center Small Business Resource Center offers users complete small business management resources via a combination of unparalleled periodicals and reference content.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center Contains the full set of small engine repair manuals from Clymer to guide you through tune-ups to transmission service. For motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more.
Student Resources in Context Selection of reference, thousands of full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips and podcasts.
Tumblebooks Hey kids! Moms and dads! You have to see it to believe it.
US History in Context Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results
Vocations and Careers Providing content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.